Country article in printed Atlas

1808 Koninklijk Instituut van Wetenschappen, Letterkunde en Schoone Kunsten (Royal Institute of Sciences, Arts and Letters), since 1851 Koninklijke Nederlandse Academie van Wetenschappen (Dutch Royal Academy of Sciences), Amsterdam.
1814 Rijksarchief (Public Record Office), The Hague.
1818 First chair in Archaeology and Museum van Oudheden (Museum of Antiquities), Leiden.
1836 Journal Bijdragen voor Vaderlandsche Geschiedenis en Oudheidkunde (Contributions for National History and Archaeology), Arnhem.
1845 Historisch Gezelschap, from 1850 Historisch Genootschap (Historical Society), Utrecht.
1850 First chair in (Universal) History, Leiden.
1858 Koninklijk Oudheidkundig Genootschap (Royal Antiquary Society).
1860 First chair in National History at Leiden University held by Robert Fruin.
1876 Higher Education Law, providing legal grounds for chairs in History.
1902 Commissie van Advies voor’s Rijks Geschiedkundige Publicatiën (Advisory Commission for the National Historical Publications), The Hague.
1912 Het Nederlandsch Openluchtmuseum (Dutch Open Air Museum), Arnhem.
1921 Academisch Statuut, History as an academic discipline with its own degree.
1928 Nederlands Comité voor Geschiedkundige Wetenschappen (Dutch Committee for Historical Sciences).
1935 Internationaal Instituut voor Sociale Geschiedenis (IISG – IISH, International institute of Social History) and the Internationaal Archief voor de Vrouwenbeweging (IAV, International Archive for the Women’s Movement), Amsterdam.
1945 Rijksinstituut voor Oorlogsdocumentatie (RIOD, National Institute for War Documentation), Amsterdam.
1947 Elizabeth Visser first female professor of History.
1969-73 Denominational documentation centres and institutes for parliamentary history.



(References are included up to 2009)

Legal Notice | 
Data policy